Co-Director: Mary Doyle has worked in the visual art sector for over 25 years.  As Senior Curator at the Contemporary Art Society, she managed the Special Collection Scheme, a £3.5m Arts Capital Lottery project to develop nineteen specialised contemporary art collections for fifteen museums and galleries throughout England, from 1995-2005.  She worked on curatorial development programmes and collection schemes at the CAS since 1993. Prior to this, she worked at Arts Council National Touring Exhibitions, the British Council and several commercial galleries in London.  She initiated the Drawing Room with co-founders Kate Macfarlane and Katharine Stout in 2000 and has co-directed the organisation since.

Co-Director: Kate Macfarlane is a curator and writer based in London who began her career in the public visual arts sector at Riverside Studios in 1984 where she curated exhibitions of, amongst others, Bethan Huws, Tim Rollins + K.O.S and Ilya Kabakov. She co-founded Drawing Room in 2000 and since that time has co-devised the organisation’s vision and programme.  Alongside her extensive curatorial work she has edited 14 Drawing Room titles, most recently ‘Graphology: drawing from automatism and automation’ co-published with ARA.MER, Ghent and M HKA, Antwerp and ‘The Peripatetic School: Itinerant Drawing from Latin America’, co-published with Ridinghouse, London.  Her writings on contemporary drawing include: ‘David Musgrave: Faulty Images’, Tate Papers, Issue 15 (2011), ‘Drawing Projects: An Exploration of the Language of Drawing’,  Jack Southern & Mick Maslen (eds.) (London: Black Dog Publishing, 2011); ‘Drawing off the page’, in A. Lammert et al (eds.), Räume der Zeichhnung (Berlin:Akademie der Künste, 2007); ‘Investigating the Status of Drawing’, ‘The Drawing Book’, Tania Kovats (ed), (London: Black Dog Publishing, 2005).  Kate studied art history and education at Cambridge University (1979-83). Recent exhibitions include ‘Graphic Witness’ at Drawing Room, ‘Line’ at Lisson Gallery, London, and ‘Dove Allouche - Mea Culpa of a Sceptic’, The Fondation d’entreprise Ricard, Paris.  She is contributing a chapter to ‘A Companion to Contemporary Drawing’, published by Wiley Blackwell in 2018.   

Associate Director: Katharine Stout  is Deputy Director at the Institute of Contemporary Arts (ICA) London. Her book, “Contemporary Drawing: 1960s to now,” was published in 2013.

Exhibitions Manager: Jacqui McIntosh
[email protected]

Gallery Manager: Suzie Jones 
[email protected]

Development Manager: Silvia Denaro
[email protected]

Development Liaison: Vishal Sumarria
[email protected]

Study Librarian: Yamuna Ravindran
[email protected]

Gallery Assistant: Alice Cocks
[email protected]

Front of House team:  Amy Barnes, Adrian Haak, Ashley Koenigsberg,  Anna Lytridou, Geegee Taiwo, Laura Tillotson, Ben Waggett

Volunteers: Steven Dale, Nick Fenn, Andia Newton, Angela Weight

General enquiries to [email protected]

Study enquiries to [email protected]

Membership enquiries to

Press enquiries to [email protected]

Advisory Board

David Austen

Andrew Bick

David Bickle

Brian Boylan

Irene Bradbury

Michael Craig Martin

Ken Hawkins 

Amrita Jhaveri

Sigrid Kirk

Veronique Parke

Allegra Pesenti

Andrew Renton

Karsten Schubert

Grant Watson